2019 Scholarship Awards

From:             St. Patrick’s Day Parade, Inc. nycstpatricksparade.org                 

Contact:         Hilary Beirne / Catherine Tully Muscente / info@nycstpatricksparade.org /718-231-4400                   

For Immediate Release

NEW YORK, NY, August 29, 2019 – The New York City St. Patrick’s Day Parade announces the winners of the 2019 College and High School level research scholarship contest.

The awardees in the College contest are;

  • First Place – Shane Slattery, 
  • Second Place- Meghan Bevan,
  • Third Place – Gavin Cogan.

The awardees in the High School contest are; 

  • First Place – Fionn Kenny,
  • Second Place – Norah O’Brien,
  • Third Place – Angela Fee.

“We commend all the applicants for their submissions and compliment them for the extremely high level of academic excellence. We were very happy this year to add to the scholarship program an opportunity for awardees to read their essays at a salon hosted by the Irish American Writers and Artists (IAW&A). I would like to thank Mary Pat Kelly President of IAW&A for affording this opportunity to the awardees so they will have an opportunity to meet world renowned writers and artists”, said Catherine Tully Muscente Co-Chair of the program. “I would also like to thank our expert panel of judges who gave of their time to review the research papers and especially thank all of the applicants for their submissions”. 

“I would like to wish all winners the very best in their studies and future endeavors”, said Sean Lane, Chairman of the St. Patrick’s Day Parade Board of Directors. “The scholarship program is extremely important to us as it engages young individuals who are interested in their Irish heritage and hopefully, they will step up to be the future leaders of this great parade. On behalf of the Parade’s Board of Directors, I wish to express our appreciation to the Affiliated Organizations who got the word out concerning the scholarships, and to all the parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents, faculty members at the schools and colleges who encourage students to submit research papers. We do plan to expand the Parade scholarship program in the future.”, Lane added.

The Parade scholarship program is funded by the St. Patrick’s Day Foundation and again this year, the Foundation is funding nine scholarships, the traditional six Parade scholarships for affiliated organizations and three additional scholarships in Timothy Cardinal Dolan’s name for Irish American children attending Catholic schools that march annually in the parade.  

 “The Board of the St Patrick Day Foundation are delighted to support the education of the children belonging to the families of Parade’s Affiliated Organizations,” said Hilary Beirne, Co-Chair of the program and Chairman of the St. Patrick’s Day Foundation.  “The Foundation will continue to sponsor this program next year and support of the Affiliated Organizations in whatever way we can”, Beirne added.

About the recipients

The College Recipients 

First Place – Shane Slattery attends Fordham University and has members of his family associated with several other Parade affiliated organizations such as the County Tipperary N&B, the AOH, and the Kerry Pipers.

Second Place – Meghan Bevan attends Molloy College and interns with the Catholic Faith Network.

Third Place – Gavin Cogan attends Rollins College in Florida and has a family member a member of the LAOH.

The High School Recipients 

First Place – Fionn Kenny attends Hunter College High School and has members of her family associated with the Cork Association

Second Place – Norah O’Brien attends Holy Trinity Diocesan High School, Long Island, and has a family member a member of The Commodore John Barry, AOH Division 11, Hicksville.

Third Place – Angela Fee attends Haldane High School, Cold Spring, NY and is associated with the Parade affiliated organization, Parents and Students of Irish Music and Dancing Association of North America.

NYC St. Patrick Parade Scholarship program;

The NYC St. Patrick’s Day Parade scholarship program is held annually in memory of three outstanding past Parade leaders, Francis P. Beirne, Rosemary Lombard, and Margaret O’Rourke. The applicant’s school, college or university must be affiliated with the Parade, or the applicant must be a family member (son, daughter, spouse, brother, sister, niece, nephew, grandchild, grandniece, grandnephew, and great-grandchild) of any person belonging to a Parade affiliated organization. Every year the scholarship panel select topics that relate to the Parade, Irish American history or Ireland.

This year’s topics: 

College level: Do the ideals and values of the 1919 Irish Declaration of Independence reflect the ideals and values expressed in the 1916 Proclamation for Independence? Compare and contrast the two documents.

 High school level: What was the influence of Irish women emigrants and Irish American women on the women’s suffrage movement in the United States? 

Applicants are required to research their respective topic and submit an essay which are then blindly adjudicated by a panel of judges from many different walks of life and include representation from the Affiliated Organizations in the parade, the Ancient Order of Hibernians, the Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians, the United Irish Counties and the Grand Council of United Emerald Societies. 

The New York City St. Patrick’s Day Parade Scholarship panel of judges for 2019 include Catherine Tully Muscente, Co-Chair; Hilary Beirne, Co-Chair; Linda Dowling Almeida, Michael Boyle, Jack Calcado, Daniel Dromm, Ann Garvey, Catherine Hogan, Mary Hogan, Michael Howley, Mary Pat Kelly, Turlough McConnell, John O’Connell, Ruth Riddick, and Laura Travers.